Christmas is my favorite holiday. I love the warmth of Christmas lights flickering, of glittering ornaments and little mittens sticky from candy canes. I love the way that most of humanity chooses to be kinder and more generous for almost an entire week out of the year. My absolutely favorite part of Christmas has to be giving gifts. I love watching people’s faces light up when they open a present just for them.

There were so many different reasons that Christmas was extra special this year. It was the first Christmas that D and I shared as a married couple. It was also the first year that my brother, being halfway through his freshman year at college in Colorado, came home to visit. It’s been rough to have him so far away and that means every minute that he’s home feels extra special. This Christmas also marked a year that we’ve had our sweet little Penelope puppy.

I really enjoyed decorating our apartment for Christmas as well.

Some of our gift opening highlights from this Christmas included the mini Nerf guns that my parents gave to KJ and D while giving me extra foam bullets so that I could provide support to whichever team I decided to back. I also got KJ a “Hobo Tool” that he used to open his presents for the remainder of the morning.

We spent most of Christmas Eve with Dustin’s parents, sister and cousin. We had a delicious home cooked meal after attending a Christmas Eve service at Desert Springs Bible Church. We spent Christmas day with my family, opening presents in the Christmas morning, Sherlock Holmes in the afternoon and dessert with our good family friends in the evening.

The holidays this year were deliciously low-key. I can’t wait until next Christmas!

